Nick has written for the fields of comic strips, journalism, television, theatre and publishing, but the bulk of his work has been in radio and audio drama.

Nick’s screen credits include: Family Affairs for Pearson TV, broadcast on Channel Five; Bowlin’ All Over drama for BBC One’s Children in Need; Three Doctor who spin-off video films – Auton, Auton 2:Sentinel, and Auton 3 (credited as Arthur Wallis) for BBV Video; and In Memory Alone, Breach of the Peace, Eye of the Beholder and The AirZone Solution for Carlton Video.

From 1988-1995, Nick was a staff writer and editorial assistant for magazines Starburst and TV Zone. He then became editor for the magazine Film Review, and subsequently film reviewer for the same.

Nick created wrote and edited articles for sci-fi comic, Space Junkk; wrote short stories for the 2007 and 2008 Doctor Who Storybooks (Panini); wrote reviews, interviews, features and comic strip Food For Thought for Doctor Who Magazine (Marvel UK); co-wrote The Dalek Survival Guide (BBC Books); and most recently Nick has written his first novel, The Dalek Generation featuring the 11th Doctor (BBC Books, Random House).

For theatre, Nick has adapted Frankenstein from Tim Kelly’s dramatization; The Hound of the Baskervilles from the original by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle; and Jekyll & Hyde from Robert Louis Stevenson’s atmospheric Gothic melodrama, Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. Nick has also written numerous full-cast audio plays available on CD and download from Big Finish Productions and often aired on BBC Radio 4 Extra including:

Doctor Who: Sirens of Time; The Mutant Phase; The Sword of Orion; Embrace the Darkness; Creatures of Beauty; The Nowhere Place; Frozen Time; Return of the Daleks; Sisters of the Flame; Vengeance of Morbius; Curse of the Daleks adapted from David Whitaker’s stage play; Orbis co-written with Alan Barnes; Wirrn Dawn; Patient Zero; Mission of the Viyrans; Blue Forgotten Planet; Return of the Krotons; Lucie Miller; To the Death; Robophobia; Destination: Nerva; Energy of the Daleks; UNIT – Dominion co-written with Jason Arnopp; Dark Eyes (Winner of the BBC Audio Drama Awards 2014 – Best Online or Non-Broadcast Audio drama); The Sands of Life; War Against the Laan; The Seeds of War co-written with Matt Fitton; The Dalek Contract; The Final Phase; The Light at the End; The Evil One; Destroy the Infinite; and Zygon Hunt.

Doctor Who Unbound: Exile; Dalek Empire 1, 2, 3 and 4; Cyberman: Scorpius, Fear, Conversion, Telos and Cyberman 2.

Sherlock Holmes: The Final Problem/The Empty House adapted from the Sir Arthur Conan Doyle short stories; The Prisoner Volumes 1 and 2, reimagined from the classic ITV series; and The Martian Invasion of Earth (Winner of the Audie Awards 2019 – Best Audio Drama) adapted from the science fiction novel by HG Wells.